MacLeod tent at the 2016 San Antonio Highland Games in Helotes, TX

This is an information resource for Members and non-members of the Clan MacLeod Society USA in the state of Texas to be informed of activities and topics of interest. Texas belongs to the CMS USA South Central Region- be sure to check up on their happenings on Facebook, Clan MacLeod Society South Central Region.

The Clan MacLeod Society of Scotland was founded in 1891, with the 26th Chief, Norman Magnus MacLeod of MacLeod as President. The 28th Chief, Dame Flora MacLeod of MacLeod, DBE, is credited for making the Clan Society what it is today. In 1929 she became the President of the Clan Society and traveled extensively after WWII to expand throughout the Commonwealth. Clan MacLeod Society (CMS) USA was founded in 1954 inspired by her leadership. Today there are over 4,000 members in nine National Societies on four continents, comprising together the Associated Clan MacLeod Societies (ACMS). The ACMS holds a world gathering of the clan at Dunvegan on the Isle of Skye every four years for a Clan Parliament, a tradition started by Dame Flora. See information about the next event at http://www.clanmacleodparliament.org/

Making the way up to borreraig cairn

The CMS USA joins with CMS Canada for the North American gathering of the clan every two years. Every alternate two years there is a worldwide gathering. Each national society also has an Annual General Meeting to conduct its business and enjoy fellowship and traditional cultural activities.

Both the International ACMS and CMS USA publish newsletters, see back issues of the CMS USA Newsletter here

US MacLeod delegates at the 2013 Annual General Meeting in San Antonio, 2013

US MacLeod delegates at the 2013 Annual General Meeting in San Antonio, 2013

Clan MacLeod Society, USA is made up of 13 regions: New England (Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, & Vermont), Mid-Atlantic (Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia & West Virginia), Carolinas (North Carolina & South Carolina), Gulf Central (Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi & Tennessee), Great Lakes (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan & Ohio), Southeast (Florida & Georgia), Northeast (Connecticut, New Jersey, New York), Missouri Valley (Missouri, Kansas, Iowa & Nebraska), Southwest (Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico & Utah), Pacific (California, Hawaii & Nevada), Northwest (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington & Wyoming), Upper Midwest (Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota & South Dakota), and South Central (Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma & Texas)

 Join Today!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.